CACUSS Award Winners Announced!

May 3, 2022

On Friday, April 29, 2022, we met virtually to announced the winners of the 2021 Awards Program! Hosted by the wonderful Carmen Law and Dr. Angie Clarke, the awards gala celebrated all of the CACUSS nominees who were recognized by their colleagues for their outstanding contributions. Keep an eye on our social platforms in the coming weeks to hear their acceptance speeches. 

The award recipients are:

New & Emerging Professional - Shannon Coyne  Innovation Award - Navi, your mental health wayfinder, University of Toronto  

Leaders in Learning Award  - Dinuka Gunaratne, University of Toronto  Graduate Student Research Award, Noah Arney, Thompson Rivers University  

Award of Excellence in Student Affairs, Meri Kim Oliver, Okanagan College  Award of Excellence in Student Affairs, Neil Buddel, Centennial College

CACUSS Award of Honour, Ian Cull, University of BC Okanagan

New & Emerging Professional - Shannon Coyne, Concordia University of Edmonton
Innovation Award - Navi: Your Mental Health Wayfinder, University of Toronto
Leaders in Learning - Dinuka Gunaratne, University of Toronto
Graduate Student Research Award - Noah Arney, Thompson Rivers University
Award of Excellence in Student Affairs - Meri Kim Oliver, Okanagan College
Award of Excellence in Student Affairs - Neil Buddel, Centennial College
CACUSS Award of Honour - Ian Cull, University of British Colombia Okanagan

In addition to the award winners above, the following individuals were given the CACUSS Award of Service:

2020-2021 outgoing Directors of the CACUSS Board:

  • Raymond Sewll, St. Mary's University
  • Jen Gonzales, Toronto Metropolitan University
  • Erin Biddlecombe, Simon Fraser University
  • Evan Hilchey, Camosun College
  • Anne Comfort, Mount Allison University


CACUSS 2021 Program Committee:

  • Angie Clarke, Marine Institute, Memorial University - Program Committee Chair
  • Michelle DeIrish, Centennial College - Co-Chair of Program Review
  • Cory Coletta, Seneca College - Co-Chair of Program Review
  • Sara Rothman, University of New Brunswick - Chair of Host/Logistics Team
  • Dinuka Gunaratne, University of Toronto - Chair of Program Development
  • Amanda Myers, Western University - Indigenous Liaison

The 2022 CACUSS Award nominations will be due in the fall. Check out our website for details!