2020-21 Board of Directors and 2021 Conference

May 26, 2020

At the Annual General Meeting on Thursday, May 21, 2020 the membership of CACUSS elected its Board of Directors for the 2020-21 year.

Mark Solomon, Dean of Students and Indigenous Education at Seneca College joins the CACUSS Board as CACUSS President after over 14 years as a member of CACUSS including presenting at many conferences, serving on many committees, writing for Communique, serving on the CACUSS Board as Chairperson of NASSA and as a recent Board member. Mark is a proud member of Henvy Inlet First Nation and describes himself as father, husband, board gamer, axe/dart thrower, and home brewer.

Mark invited our membership to retain and strengthen our sense of community as an organization. And while he never imagined being the first president to not have an annual conference for us to gather at, he believes in our ability as an organization to use that community strength as we move forward through these challenging times together. As the first Indigenous President of CACUSS, we are proud and excited for Mark’s leadership.

The 2020-21 CACUSS Board of Directors are:

Mark Solomon, Seneca College, President   

Dale Mullings, University of Toronto, Mississauga, Finance Director          

Woo Kim, York University, Director  

Raymond Sewell, St. Mary’s University, Director                 

Erin Biddlecombe, Simon Fraser University, Director          

Anne Comfort, Mount Allison University, Director   

Evan Hilchey, Camosun College, Director     

Jennifer Gonzales, Ryerson University, Director (Appointed)          

CACUSS wishes to thank our outgoing board members for their service over the past few years.

Pat Pardo, Mount Royal University

Shari Walsh, Niagara College

Josh Hass, University of Toronto

Angie Clarke, Marine Institute, MUN

CACUSS Conference 2021!

In addition, CACUSS announced the location of the 2021 Annual Conference to take place in Fredericton, New Brunswick, May 30-June 2, 2021. We will be working closely with our Host Team at University of New Brunswick and our theme is

Shifting Currents. Building Bridges.

Please enjoy a short video which highlights our theme and lovely Fredericton!

Your 2021 Conference Program Committee is:

Chair—Angie Clarke, Marine Institute of Memorial University

Host Team Chair—Sara Rothman, University of New Brunswick

Program Development Chair—Dinuka Gunaratne

Program Review Co-Chair, Michelle DeIrish, Centennial College

Program Review Co-Chair, Cory Coletta, Centennial College.

We have great number of dedicated volunteers also involved with each subcommittee. Their names and more information about the 2021 conference will be posted online soon!